Car Accident Laws
It’s the Law
In New Jersey it is illegal to drive without a license or with a revoked or suspended license; drive an unregistered vehicle; and operate a vehicle without insurance. Victims of accidents caused by drivers without insurance are able to file a claim with their own insurance company if the other driver is found to be at fault for the accident. Under New Jersey’s Comparative Negligence law, victims of accidents with uninsured drivers can collect damages if their degree of liability does not exceed that of the other driver. In 1998 New Jersey passed the Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act to allow consumers more choice in selecting coverage limits and attempt to control the cost of insurance payments in medical treatment, lawsuits and vehicle repairs.
In Pennsylvania all vehicles that are required to be registered must be covered by insurance with the following minimums: $15,000 for an injury or death to one person in a single accident; $30,000 for injuries or deaths to more than one person in a single accident; and $5,000 of property damage insurance. Drivers may acquire personal insurance to cover greater injury or damages if they are the victim of an accident caused by another driver with inadequate insurance to cover those additional losses incurred.